Jo Brodie's secondary blog

Secondary blog to Stuff that occurs to me, on Blogger

Random thoughts on dual-functioning website buttons (like this, share this, follow us on Twitter, tweet this etc).

leave a comment »

Moz-screenshot-19

For the CHI+MED website I’ve managed to find a button that will let readers know where we are on Twitter, similarly on YouTube – but I’ve not found the one that will let me tell them where we are on Posterous. I might have to create one myself in PowerPoint.

Hunting for Posterous buttons brings up plenty of buttons that would let people share the content found on our webpages with their readers on their Posterous blog but not take them to our Posterous blog.

Does anyone know of such a thing?

Secondly, my trawl through Google has uncovered a rich variety of button forms but what I’ve not come across is a button that actually does both (‘follow’ and ‘announce’) – something that, if you click on the left hand side it will take you to someone’s Twitter page and if you click on the right hand side it will launch a little dialogue box where you can compose a tweet to promote the page.

Conceptually, something a bit like this which I rustled up in Paint (I do hope the image shows up otherwise this will be a particularly pointless post).

Moz-screenshot-20

You follow the person’s twitterstream on the left and you click on the right to send a tweet about the page you’re on. Seems simple. Obviously smaller versions could be created.

Twitter already has “follow buttons” and “tweet buttons” but then it occurred to me… surely someone else must have thought to combine them?

Anyway, where’s the “Follow our blog on Posterous” button, which is what I’m really after 😉

Jo

Written by Jo Brodie

April 14, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment